The Neil Hartmann Weblog

Photography, Filmmaking, Snowboarding, Music, SNS, Whatever? The only constant is change!

Niseko Onsen House! For the powder hunter

Posted by Neil Hartmann on December 24, 2012

In the post below I introduced my new project with the Weiss hotel and how I decorated the lobby and lounge with my photos. The Weiss hotel is a great place to stay if you are looking for someplace affordable and fairly convenient to Hanazono and the new, soon to start Cat Boarding tour service offered by Niseko’s legendary guide company N.A.C

Today I want to introduce a lodge/rental house that is a grade above, a space that will surely please the powder hunters out there. If you are coming to Niseko with a tight-knit group of say 4 to maybe 9 people and you want to be right at the ultimate location for deep deep powder and close access to backcountry riding in Niseko, this is the place to reserve. Simply named “Onsen House”, I stayed for one night to check it out myself and I have to say I wanted to move in and live there! Located within walking distance of Chisei Nupuri, this is a classic Hokkaido house that has been converted by the new owner just this year. Roomy with vintage Hokkaido mountain stylings, it has been updated perfectly to be a ski/snowboard friendly house. Drying spaces, amazing natural hot springs that can easily fit four people at a time, wood stove, counter kitchen, huge fridge, comes with a Land Rover to use while you stay, great art on the walls, and lots more.

Chisei Nupuri is a very small resort, in fact the word resort is not right. Ski hill is more appropriate. About 20 to 30 minutes drive from the Hirafu village center, Chisei is at a higher elevation on the road to Goshiki Hot Springs, the end of the road during winter time. It is the starting place for hiking Iwaonupuri and maybe other classic Niseko lines. With only one hooded three-man lift it does not seem like much, but I can tell you I have had some life changing powder experiences at Chisei. If fact I am not going to say much more about it because I would rather keep it a local secret! It is that good.

If you do stay at the Onsen House and you want to have a special backcountry experience I highly recommend using the services of one of the many talented guide companies in Niseko. I personally recommend Powder Company guides. I have taken several tours with them in the Chisei area and those guys have that area mastered! Maximum pow with minimum walking!

So check out the photos I took, them check out the official website for the Onsen House, then get your reservation in, this place with book out pretty fast!

A bear cub to welcome you

A bear cub to welcome you

Hokkaido made art

Hokkaido made art

Onsen house6

Counter kitchen modeled by my girls

Counter kitchen modeled by my girls

Great views

Great views

Vintage wood

Vintage wood

Classic Hokkaido stylings

Classic Hokkaido stylings

Hot Springs in the house!

Hot Springs in the house!

I am ready to get back out there just looking at these pictures. Don’t forget to check the Onsen House website for some high quality photos and more details about the property. See you out there!

One Response to “Niseko Onsen House! For the powder hunter”

  1. Lorene said

    Hello to every one, the contents present at this website are in fact awesome for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,951 other followers

