First day of riding!

Yesterday was my first day of riding this season! I got an invitation from the local snowboard TV show “No Matter Board” to be a guest on one of the upcoming programs. They somehow got permission to film the day before official opening day at our local mountain Kokusai! It was by far the best opening day I have ever had in my life!

It had been dumping snow for the past five days and I knew it would be deep up on the mountain. Not only was it deep, but we had the entire mountain to ourselves! The gondola was running just for the 8 of us! Four riders and 4 camera/video crew. It felt crazy to be standing in the middle of the course with powder everywhere feeling no pressure to rush. We took our time stopping to set up some shots, knowing that no one would come blasting through. What an amazing experience! Big thanks to Matsui for inviting us on the show.

If you are in Hokkaido, you can see the show when it airs on December the 4th on HTB sometime after 1:00AM (technically that would make it the 5th).

Since I was asked to join the show as a guest and rider, I didn’t take my camera with me, so I don’t have a single shot from the mountain!  Sorry, but I was just too excited to be back on a board in the mountains to carry my camera.  I am hoping that Kei Photo will send me some shots to share with you soon.

The road up to Kokusai.

Trees caked in snow!  I Love it!

Leave a Reply

