Very very happy

The new issue of Outdoor Japan arrived two days ago and I was very happy to find my portrait photo of Jake Burton on the cover! I had done the interview and photos with him in January, but I never thought that one of the shots would end up on the cover!! Stoked!

It was one of those crazy 35 minute interview to photo shoot set ups. I had no assistant and no real preparation time. I found the wood panel wall in the same room that we did the interview and decided that it would suit Jake perfectly! I used two Elinchrome flash heads with one battery and probably shot less than twenty photos. Time was tight, Jake had other interviews to do.

I have to say this may very well be my favorite cover to date. There is something about the way the shot went down and the fact that it is Jake and just a simple portrait…. The design is also really nice, thanks to Outdoor Japan’s designer.


Until now my favorite cover shot was from the Torino Olympics 4 years ago. I got the cover of Shaun White doing a layback during his winning run. I thought that cover was very cool, but the text and layout was not that great…

Speaking of Shaun. I am flying to Tokyo tomorrow night to shoot portraits with him on Sunday morning! Stoked, looking forward to getting something good!

Leave a Reply

