Flight over Sendai

On my flight to Tokyo on Thursday, I was surprised to see the flight path take us almost directly over Sendai airport and along the entire Tohoku coast. For the last few months after the Tsunami and Fukushima Nuclear Disaster, I knew that the flight routes had been changed to avoid flying along the Pacific coast. On previous flights, I had always requested a window seat on the left side of the plane hoping to catch a view of the Tsunami aftermath from the air. This time I did the same, and thanks to some good weather, I was able to shoot these views. Pretty much everyone on the left side of the plane was staring hard out the window, trying to see what the damage looks like from 10,000 ft. Even with my 300mm zoom lens, it was hard to get much detail, but there is a very brown feeling along the affected coast line. Usually cities with people and houses all seem to sparkle and flash in the sunlight as it bounces off windows and roofs and cars. However, the coast line does not have that look anymore, it is just brown.

I strained to catch a glimpse of Fukushima Daiichi, but clouds came up and I wasn’t able to confirm a view of the now legendary site. Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

