Japan Issue of Snowboarder Magazine

Has there ever been an entire issue devoted to Japan of any international Snowboarding magazine? Ever? I think this may be a first! Snowboarder magazine has pulled together a classic collectors edition magazine, unless you have some kind of grudge against Japan, this is a must have issue.

Chief Editor Pat “the Eye” contacted me about a month and a half ago to see if I would be interested in writing a story piece about Car Danchi for the issue. My answer was a very quick yes. So I knew the issue was in the works, but I never thought it would be this big. Obviously the 3/11 earthquake and all that has happened since has brought the level of awareness about Japan and Japanese snowboarding to the forefront of the North American consciousness, hence the special treatment with this issue. It could not have come at a better time. Last season certainly ended on a bitter note, this issue is the starter fuel we need for this coming season!

On behalf of the snow industry here in Japan and all Japanese snowboarders I would like to say a big thank you to Snowboarder for making this happen! We appreciate the attention and devotion you continue to show to this country. Big up!

From me personally, I have to say I never dreamed that I would get my face plastered over two pages in Snowboarder magazine! My jaw hit the floor when I saw that layout. That plus 5 pages devoted to Car Danchi and the story I wrote. The fact that a simple movie about some dudes sleeping in their cars to ride the best powder possible, has grown to be this big of a deal… well it continues to amaze me.

I guess we have a lot to live up to now, the bar has been raised for Japan and certainly for me. I look forward to welcoming the snow world back to Japan this coming season! Feel free to get in contact and I will do the best I can to help you out!

Most Famous Japanese snowboarder ever, Kazu on the cover, I think his pants are sagging a little, somebody should call the Japan Olympic Committee and let them know!

The Blueblood Funday bowl made it into the mag.  I spent close to a week helping dig that bowl and the tunnel.  It was hot and back-breaking work, so I’m stoked to see this get in the mag.

Key photo got his first shot in Snowboarder.  Nice shot of Yamauchi Kazushi in Tokachi area!

My spread

What the hell is Car Danchi!

The Elements photo section is all Japan location and Japanese rider shots!  Great to see so many local spots make the mag!

If you can’t find the magazine near you, try to get the digital version for iPad, etc.,!!

www.snowboardermag.com

Leave a Reply

